Atticus - Northcote Uniting Church - 26 Sept 2011

(forwarded from Judith Hamann):
Atticus perform their second major concert on September 26th, presenting a program of works that range from acoustic string quartet, to intimate solo repertoire, to electro-acoustic augmentation.

The concert features the world premiere of a commissioned work, ‘Cruel and Usual’ (2011) by Perth based composer Cat Hope for string quartet and four bass amps. Inspired by a piece in the Al Jazzera news service regarding the use of solitary confinement in US prisons, the work is in turn both delicate and distorted in its highly individual treatment of the string quartet. The program also includes the Australian premiere of Liza Lim’s ‘Invisibility’ (2009) for solo cello, a shimmering exploration of both hiding and revealing the numinous, as well as a recent composition for string quartet by Anthony Pateras, the dynamic and demanding ‘Crystalline’ (2010). This concert also features Scelsi’s ‘String Quartet No. 5’ (1984) and a solo viola excerpt of ‘The Arrival’ (2009) by David Chisholm, commissioned by Atticus’ own Phoebe Green.

Northcote Uniting Church
September 26th
Tickets $10/15 on the door